Following the recent Six Nations matches, we turn our attention to a specific incident involving Ben Earl's tackle during England's loss to France. Many have debated whether the referee made the right call in penalizing Earl for his tackle on Romain Taofifenua. Former England player Ugo Monye expressed his frustration at the decision, highlighting that Earl did not wrap his arms around Taofifenua as required by the rules of a legal tackle. While Earl's effort was commendable, his technique was lacking, leading to the penalty decision.
Ultimately, the referee's call was justified based on the laws of the game.